top of page

DIY Distressed Jeans

What do you do when your favorite pair of jeans starts to wear and tear? You purposely wear and tear them even more and make them looked "distressed" rather than old and raggedy. At least that's what I did. ;)

Before I could begin chopping up my clothes, I had to gather my 'ingredients.' I took an old pair of jeans that I adore, a pair of kitchen scissors, a pen and a pair of old tweezers and set those aside to use for my project! After everything was gathered it was show time! I tried on my jeans and marked where I wanted the holes to land on my legs. I wanted one on the left knee, one on the right upper thigh, one on the left front pocket and one on the back right pocket. By marking where I wanted my holes, it was easier for my to go ahead and start cutting.

And now the fun begins! Once you figure out where you want your holes to be, it is important to cut two identical slits above and below the original. This will give it much more of a distressed look rather than a 'I just felt like cutting my jeans' look. One thing that I did find really helpful while I was making the incisions was to put a small notepad in the pant leg right under where I wanted to cut. This helped me to make sure I didn't accidentally nick the back of the pant leg- that would not be a good look for me.

After the slicing and dicing of the jeans is complete, you're going to want to pull out (with tweezers) all of the blue thread in the incision. This will make more sense when you're actually going through the distressing process. Basically, your jeans are made up of white and blue (or whatever color your jeans happen to be) thread and you're going to pull out each individual blue thread. This will leave only the while thread making these jeans look distressed. It's a long process but it's oddly therapeutic!

Once you're done pulling the thread out you're going to want to throw your jeans in the washer and dryer. The thread will become much looser and will really help the holes look like they have always been there. Once they are dry you're going to want to try them on and see how you...and the jeans I suppose...look ;) If you see something you want to tweak then go right ahead and fix it! But, if you're happy with the results then wear those babies out for a date night or a girls night out and work 'em, girl!

Distressing jeans was so fun and I know that I am going to be doing them again! I think I will head over to the Salvation Army or Goodwill to pick up a more budget friendly pair of jeans (since I am going to just be ripping them open anyway) and go through this distressing process all over again!

*make sure you're subscribed so you can get e-mail alerts when I post new content! also, feel free to click on the logos on the top right corner of this page to connect with my other social media platforms!*

bottom of page