top of page

What It Was Like to Color My Hair

It's been about six months since I've colored my hair and I thought it might be fun to answer some questions I got/get frequently asked when it comes to changing my hair. I am so excited that I get to share this process with you and hope that you learn something new from it :)

Why did I want to change my hair?

Since I have such thick hair, I have never been able to do a lot with it. My hair is usually in a bun or a low ponytail because it just looks so bland and lifeless to me when I wear it down. I thought that adding a little color would enhance my hair and allow me to be confident wearing my hair down more often.

How long have I wanted to change it for?

About 5 or 6 years-- I know it's a long time!

What did I want done?

I was really going for a soft balayage. I told my wonderful stylist that I wanted something that still looked natural but added a little something different to my look. I wanted to stay mostly brunette with pops of all shades of blonde throughout my hair.

What pictures did I show my stylist?

I showed her quite a few but here are the ones we focused on the most (all from Pinterest):

How did I know where to go?

I did my homework! I looked on Yelp and Google day and night to find the best person to entrust my hair to. I came across a wonderfully rated salon, told them what I wanted and they then recommended the best gal for the job.

How long was the coloring process?

My appointment was for 12:45 and I was there until about 4:45. So, including waiting time before the appointment and a mini photo shoot after, I was there for roughly 4 hours. Keep in mind that I have a ton of hair so the process took much longer than it would on someone with thin to normal hair.

How do you maintain it?

My stylist and I talked about how important it was for me to have very low-maintenance hair. So, she created a color that only needs to be washed with a purple shampoo and conditioner once a month or so. Other than that, I can do everything the same with my hair; essentially, it is as low-maintenance as it gets! FYI, the purple shampoo and conditioner will keep my blonde from getting brassy over time. It will also ensure that the blonde stays nice ans bright until I need to get it done again (roughly in about a year!). Oh, and I keep the washing of my hair to a minimum! I only wash it when all the dry shampoo in the world can't save it anymore.

How do I like my new hair?

I am completely in love with it! My stylist, Patti, did an amazing job! I will definitely be going back to her to get it redone when it comes time and I highly recommend her to anyone in the Chicago-land area! :)

What advice do I have for people wanting to change their hair?

Make sure you know (for sure) what you want and communicate it well to the stylist. Just have fun with it and enjoy the pampering process! :)

I loved the way my color looked right after and I still love it six months later! The color has faded but is still in tact-- especially the back of my head and the lower pieces of hair aka the ones that were processed more to begin with. And, since I told my stylist I did not want to have anything done to my roots, my hair looks very similar to when I first got it done even as my hair has grown. Although this was a pricey process, I am so happy I took the plunge to balayage my hair! I will definitely be getting my hair done again in the future; and maybe I'll go even blonder! :)

bottom of page