top of page

What I Read: January Edition

In January, I only picked up two books (which is so unlike me). I was busy enjoying family time over break and did not have work (in a library) where I could read for hours at a time. So, two books is what I've got for you for January!

Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

General Description: "...a devotional filled with uniquely inspired treasures from heaven for every day of the year. After many years of writing in her prayer journal, missionary Sarah Young decided to listen to God with pen in hand, writing down whatever she believed He was saying to her. It was awkward at first, but gradually her journaling changed from monologue to dialogue. She knew her writings were not inspired as Scripture is, but journaling helped her grow closer to God. Others were blessed as she shared her writings, until people all over the world were using her messages. They are written from Jesus' point of view, thus the title Jesus Calling. It is Sarah's fervent prayer that our Savior may bless readers with His presence and His peace in ever deeper measure."

My Opinion: I love this daily devotional! It's nice because this devo doesn't specify a certain year (nor days of the week) so you can read it any time throughout your life! I like to read mine either when I first wake up or before bed that way I am starting and ending my day on a good note. I highly recommend this devotional to anyone looking for a little extra encouragement. The writings are short, sweet and straight to the point so it's perfect for anyone on a busy schedule; because, let's be honest, we all have two minutes to spare in order to read.

Where to Buy: Amazon, $10

Designing Your Life by Bill Burnett and Dave Evans

General Description: "...how design thinking can help us create a life that is both meaningful and fulfilling, regardless of who or where we are, what we do or have done for a living, or how young or old we are. The same design thinking responsible for amazing technology, products, and spaces can be used to design and build your career and your life, a life of fulfillment and joy, constantly creative and productive, one that always holds the possibility of surprise."

My Opinion: I was not a huge fan of this book. I know that it is well known but I felt like it was something I had already read before seeing as I read a lot of self-help type books. Not much of the information was new to me so I stopped reading at about half way through because, honestly, I was bored.

Where to Buy: Amazon, $15

bottom of page