top of page

Lather, Rinse, Repeat

Since I colored my hair in August, I have been strictly washing my hair with only purple shampoo and conditioner. However, I was feeling like it was time to mix it up and try out some new color safe (but not purple) shampoo and conditioner. So, off to Target I went on the hunt for just that!

I took my time in the aisles making sure I looked up reviews of products before I put them in my cart. My purple shampoo and conditioner (which I loved) was L'Oreal so I thought it might be a safe bet to try another one of their products out. With that in mind, I picked up the L'Oreal Vibrancy Intensive Shampoo & Conditioner.

I loved the smell of the products, they got good reviews everywhere I looked and, best of all, it claimed to protect my color-treated hair.

The first night I used this duo I was unimpressed. My hair felt extremely dry and fragile after my shower; simply put, my hair looked like a hot mess. But, when I woke up the next morning, my hair was so wavy and shiny and yummy smelling; I was so happy!

Since continuing to use these products a few times a week for about three weeks, I have some thoughts.

  1. I love the way my hair smells when using this shampoo and conditioner

  2. I love the natural wave these products bring out in my hair

  3. I am not seeing much color protection. In fact, just the opposite. I feel like my balayage highlights are fading rapidly and the overall color of my hair just looks off-- I think brassy is the best way to describe it.

I am unsure as to whether or not I will keep using these products for the simple fact that it is not keeping my hair vibrant like my purple shampoo and conditioner did. If a product claims to be color safe then I expect it to not touch the color in my hair-- it should look more vibrant not dull and brassy.

bottom of page