top of page

What I Read: February Edition

I always forget how much I love to read until I pick up a new book. I am so lucky to go to a school that has an inter-library loan system where I can check out books from not only my school but every school in Illinois. I just go online, choose what book I want and it gets sent to my school within a week or so; it's amazing! As you'll soon realize, I take full advantage of this system and read as much as I can before I graduate. February was a big reading month for me so keep on reading if you want to see what made the cut.

{CAUTION: some book descriptions contain foul language}

The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

General Description: "Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you’ll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo’s clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list). With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house “spark joy” (and which don’t), this international bestseller featuring Tokyo’s newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home—and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire." My Opinion: I really enjoyed this book! I like to think of myself as an organized hoarder (in the best way, of course). I am always reorganizing things but never actually throwing or donating much away. This book really helped me to set guidelines for myself when it comes to cleaning and organizing that I know will come in handy the next time I get an itch to clean.

Where to Buy: Amazon $11

The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck by Sarah Knight

General Description: "This brilliant, hilarious, and practical parody of Marie Kondo's bestseller The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up explains how to rid yourself of unwanted obligations, shame, and guilt--and give your f*cks instead to people and things that make you happy. The easy-to-use, two-step NotSorry Method for mental decluttering will help you unleash the power of not giving a f*ck about: Family drama, having a "bikini body," IcelandCo-workers' opinions, pets, and children and other bullsh*t! And it will free you to spend your time, energy, and money on the things that really matter. So what are you waiting for? Stop giving a f*ck and start living your best life today!"

My Opinion: Does this book contain a lot of cursing? Yes, of course it does. But, the underlying idea that we need to determine what does and does not deserve our time (aka f*cks) is important. This book contains humor without masking the fact that the author is dealing out a serious reality check-- and one I personally needed to be reminded of: don't give others your time and energy if they don't deserve it (or if you just don't want to). Plain and simple.

Where to Buy: Amazon, $12

Strong Looks Better Naked by Khloé Kardashian

General Description: "In a culture that worships skinny, Kardashian writes with passion about the power of strength: a strong body lays the foundation for a strong mind, which leads to strength of heart, character, and ultimately spirit. Filled with practical advice, recipes, and compelling personal anecdotes, Strong Looks Better Naked is an inspiring meditation on how to create strength, confidence, and true beauty in every facet of your life." My Opinion: I know, I know; a Kardashian book, Madie, really? Yeah, yeah, yeah. But, this book was actually really good! Kholé takes maybe a chapter to talk about her relationship with Lamar (her ex-husband) and the rest of the book is all about health and fitness-- which is exactly what I wanted! She is so open about her struggle with weight and eating habits that it made me a more vulnerable reader and, in turn, made me really think about why I picked up this book. If you're looking for some honest feedback or health advice I would suggest starting here. This book is easy to read and extremely encouraging. I have gained a new respect for Khloé after reading this and I think you will too.

Where to Buy: Amazon, $23

Hitler's Last Days by Bill O'Riley

General Description: "By early 1945, the destruction of the German Nazi State seems certain. The Allied forces, led by American generals George S. Patton and Dwight D. Eisenhower, are gaining control of Europe, leaving German leaders scrambling. Facing defeat, Adolf Hitler flees to a secret bunker with his new wife, Eva Braun, and his beloved dog, Blondi. It is there that all three would meet their end, thus ending the Third Reich and one of the darkest chapters of history. Hitler's Last Days is a gripping account of the death of one of the most reviled villains of the 20th century―a man whose regime of murder and terror haunts the world even today. Adapted from Bill O'Reilly's historical thriller Killing Patton, this book will have young readers―and grown-ups too―hooked on history."​​ My Opinion: If you know me then you know that I find WWII to be fascinating. It's something about the psychology and why and how this happened that is so intriguing to me. So, I picked up this book to learn more about Hitler's twisted brain but that's not really what I got. This book was good because it gave a lot of detail about the war that I had never before learned; but, I would have liked more analysis on Hitler's life as the book's title would suggest it does.

Where to Buy: Amazon $16

bottom of page