top of page

What I Read: March Edition

The Untethered Soul by Michael A. Singer

General Description: "Whether this is your first exploration of inner space, or you’ve devoted your life to the inward journey, this book will transform your relationship with yourself and the world around you. You’ll discover what you can do to put an end to the habitual thoughts and emotions that limit your consciousness. By tapping into traditions of meditation and mindfulness, author and spiritual teacher Michael A. Singer shows how the development of consciousness can enable us all to dwell in the present moment and let go of painful thoughts and memories that keep us from achieving happiness and self-realization."

My Opinion: I was so excited to read this! I heard so many great things and truly thought I would love it. But, I was wrong. I'm going to be blunt here: holy snooze fest. This book was so incredibly boring I put it down after reading four out of the 19 chapters.

Where to buy: Amazon $15

Seven Life Principles For Every Woman by Sharon Jaynes & Lysa Terkeurst

General Description: "The "ideal" woman outlined in Proverbs 31 is an intimidating standard to uphold. Yet Sharon Jaynes and Lysa TerKeurst do not believe this model is impossible to follow. The authors show how keeping a home is a high and God-honoring calling for business women as well as those who stay home. Through practical advice, Jaynes and TerKeurst outline how women can fulfill the high calling God has placed on their lives."

My Opinion: I liked it until she stated that, essentially, woman's opinion should not matter as much in the home as her husband's. I honestly stopped reading right there. So, yeah, this was not a hit for me.

Where to Buy: Amazon $0.01 (seriously)

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

General Description: "The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA at the leading edge of the feminist and civil rights movement, whose calculations helped fuel some of America’s greatest achievements in space—a powerful, revelatory contribution that is as essential to our understanding of race, discrimination, and achievement in modern America as Between the World and Me and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks."

My Opinion: I've really been wanting to see this movie but I wanted to read the book first to see how it compares. Unfortunately, the introduction was so slow I stopped reading after about six chapters. There was so much background information that I felt was unnecessary; I wish they would have gotten straight into the story. And, I know that the background information was important because this was based on a real story; but, I was still a little bored so I closed the book and decided to just rent the movie.

Where to Buy: Amazon $14

The Circle by Dave Eggers

General Description: "When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. The Circle, run out of a sprawling California campus, links users’ personal emails, social media, banking, and purchasing with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of civility and transparency. As Mae tours the open-plan office spaces, the towering glass dining facilities, the cozy dorms for those who spend nights at work, she is thrilled with the company’s modernity and activity. There are parties that last through the night, there are famous musicians playing on the lawn, there are athletic activities and clubs and brunches, and even an aquarium of rare fish retrieved from the Marianas Trench by the CEO. Mae can’t believe her luck..."

My Opinion: I really liked this book! It is all about technology but also has some romance and a little drama as well. The only thing I really didn't like about this book was the ending. Without giving anything away, it ended very abruptly with no explanation. I started this book after seeing a movie preview and couldn't decide if I wanted to see it or not. But, after reading the book, I think I will give the movie a shot!

Where to Buy: Amazon $10

bottom of page