top of page

Being Trendy: Powder {Before} Foundation

Have you heard of this madness?! It's seriously changed the way I do my makeup-- for the better!

I first heard about putting a translucent powder under foundation on Buzzfeed. The girls trying it out said it didn't really make a difference in their makeup's longevity; so, I put the idea out of my mind. But, I then heard it about a month later on Twitter and knew I needed to at least try it. So, here's what I do:

  • Moisturize

  • Prime

  • Add a light dusting of translucent powder

  • Add foundation

  • Set with powder

  • Apply all products as usual

Oh my gosh, guys, I will never not use this little trick! It works so well and keeps my makeup on longer and keeps it looking smooth and airbrushed all day long! You can't tell that there's powder under the foundation. I was worried my foundation would get clumpy or my face would be too dry but it does nothing but make my complexion look perfect!

My skin is very combination but this doesn't make my dry patches look dry and it keeps my T-zone from getting too oily. It must have something to do with setting the primer that makes my skin look so gorgeous-- even when I break out.

If you haven't tried this out yet, you need to! Any translucent powder is fine (I use CoverGirl) and all you need is a light dusting. I promise it will change the way you do your makeup!

bottom of page