top of page

I Guess It's Time To Adult Now...


Holy crap, I graduate college today.

I have had a different college experience than some. I transferred twice, had terrible roommates (not all, but more than half), was intolerant to most of the food offered to me in the dining hall, changed my major five times (seriously), did long distance with my boyfriend for a year and a half and had all of my family move out of the state.

But, I still managed go graduate on time in four years. Wow, I am so blessed.

All of the deterrents that were put in my way over these last four years have enabled me to become the woman I am today; and I'm pretty damn proud of that. I have become more vocal about my opinions, more confident in my own skin, more passionate about healthcare and, overall, a more well-rounded individual.

I loved my college experience.

Of course, I wouldn't be wearing a purple cap and gown today if it weren't for my parents. I am so blessed to have parents who care about my education and who gave me time to think about what I wanted to do with my life, grace when I messed up and needed help, and love and support always; oh, and tuition ;) To not only my parents, but to all family and friends who were nothing but amazing during my college years, thank you!

What's next for me after I walk across that stage? Well, I'm lucky enough to have a place to call home here in Chicago with my boyfriend, Casey. I will also be working for a well-known insurance company and helping them to lead a healthier lifestyle through an office wellness program. Much of my attention will also be on the community and how we can help them to live their lives to the healthiest. When people ask me what I want to do with my Public Health degree (with my minor in Women's Studies) all I can respond is, I just want to help people any way I can.

I am so looking forward to my future and I can't wait to share with you all where my life ends up going. And, with that, all I have left to say is, go Necks!


bottom of page