top of page

September Sephora Play! Box


This month's box was another "meh" for me. I think the underlying theme was water because everything seemed to be either hydrating or waterproof. You'll see what I mean.

The first product(s) is this IGK shampoo and conditioner duo. I rarely use the shampoo and conditioner samples I am given. I have too much hair for such little product! However, this is called "hot girls" shampoo and conditioner so maybe I'll try it out just for the heck of it (secretly hoping it turns me into a Victoria's Secret model). The full-size of each of these are $25.

This next product I am bummed about. It is the Sephora Collection Contour Eye Pencil. I actually own the full-size of this and hate it. It runs and is totally not waterproof! I have tried to wear this a million ways but still seem to have the same issues. However, I will try to use this the next time I wear eyeliner (it may be a while) and see if maybe they changed the formula since I last purchased it. This full-size of this product is $10.

Okay, I am completely obsessed with the next product! This is the Belif Aqua Bomb moisturizer. I have gotten this as a sample multiple times before and have always loved it! This leaves my skin super hydrated and healthy-looking. My favorite way to wear this is actually without foundation on top, just a little sunscreen. It just gives me that healthy dewy glow that I crave from my skin! I am thinking about getting the full-size of this product when my Glamglow Glowstarter runs out...which y'all know I am also obsessed with! The full-size of the product is $38.

The Algenist Power Recharging Night Pressed Serum is something I had never tried before. It is a solid when you dig it out of the container but then melts into your skin and into an oil as you rub it in. I used this once and my skin broke out. Now, I don't know if this is what caused the breakout or if it was PMS, but I am going to try again because my skin was glowing when I woke up. You are going to go bananas when you see the full-size price...The full-size of this product is $95. Yep, I know.

I was so excited to see the Benefit Gimme Brow in my box! I have been wanting to try this brow gel for years but have never gotten around to it. They gave me the shade "5" but I think it may be a little too dark for me. Online, it says it is made for "deep, dark brown to black" brows. However, I have not tried it yet so who knows?! Maybe it'll be the perfect match for me! The full-size of this product is $24.

Finally, the last product in my bag is an Urban Decay Vice Liquid Lipstick in the shade "Amulet." Online, it is described as a matte brick rose and I would agree with that. In the tube it looks a little shimmery but when swatched, it was more matte than I expected. On my little cheat-sheet of what's what in my box, it says that this lipstick is waterproof. However, that is not mentioned anywhere on the Sephora site (that I was able to see). My swatch

is a little rough, so I am sorry about that, but it is not edited in any way so you can see the true color in semi-natural lighting.

So, there it is-- this is my September Sephora Play! Box! While there were some misses, I am excited about most of these products. And, for only the $10 I paid for the box, to get products close to $100 is amazing to me! I am so glad that Sephora included some hot-ticket items as well as affordable options.

Do you have the Play! Box? Sign up here!

bottom of page