top of page

October Sephora Play! Box

Ah, it’s good to be back! As I am sure you all can relate, sometimes life just gets the best of me and I can’t find time (or the energy) to focus on me. My me-time usually comes in the form of Netflix, candles and blogging. However, I have not been very self-centered lately (the good kind, ya know?).

Blah, blah, blah, enough about that. Let’s talk about this month’s Sephora Play! Box. The theme for the month of October is complexion. This immediately excited me and I was even more excited when I saw what I had been sent.

The first product I saw was the Becca Cosmetics Firstlight Priming Filter . I have wanted to try this forever and never got up the nerve (or the cash) to purchase it. But, let me tell you, I probably will have to go out and get a full-sized because I am already in love. This is a purple tinted primer that makes my skin truly glow. It doesn’t look glittery, just glowy. It also kept my skin looking and feeling hydrated all day while keeping my makeup in place amid the windy Chicago mornings.

I also got the Cover FX Custom Enhancer Drops in the shade Moonlight. While I already own this, I was so happy to see it in this box! This is an intense highlight that goes with any look. You can “dress” it up or down by using it boldly on the cheekbone or subtly mixed into foundation.

One tip I have for those of you new to these drops: warm it up on the back of your hand first and apply with a sponge. If you do not do this the product may cling to a dry spot. Also, make sure you apply this before powder or it will cling like a mother.

Laura Mercier Translucent Powder was in the box as well. This is one of my favorite powders because of how fine and silky it is. This gives no flash-back (which is great for flash photography) and keeps makeup in place all day. While I love this product, the container I was sent is so small I can barely get any product out. Hopefully, as I use this powder up it will be easier to get out of the container.

I had no idea that Makeup Forever carried skincare products until I got this box. When I saw the Makeup Forever Ultra HD Skin Booster my eyes lit up. And, as I applied it and saw the serums effects I about lost my mind. My skin was so glowy and clear the morning after using this (I applied it before bed) I almost couldn’t believe it. How had I never heard of this before?! The product recommends using the serum under makeup but I prefer to use it as part of my night-time skincare routine.

Along with all of that goodness, I also received the Makeup Forever Ultra HD Concealer. While I have no concrete thoughts on this bad boy yet, I can tell you that it seems like a full-coverage concealer but I have a feeling it will blend out nicely. It also looks like it could be a match for my skintone but even if it isn't, Sephora will give me a free sample of another shade if I bring in my Play! points card. How ncie is that?!

Finally, I got a Chanel perfume that I surprisingly like. Normally, Chanel perfumes are too floral for my liking but this one is a little sweeter and citrusier than others I have tried. Here is what Sephora.com has to say about this perfume:

  • Jasmine, Orange Blossom, Grasse Tuberose, Ylang-Ylang

  • Classic Florals

  • 4 and 1/4 stars

I like it. Is it my favorite? No. But it will do the job.

I am loving this month's Sephora Play! Box. Have you gotten your hands on it yet?

bottom of page