top of page

New Year New Me: Cut & Color

Ah, the new year; a time for new goals, new habits and new looks. This year, I adopted all three. You know about the goals and habits I am wanting to achieve and stick to this year but I have yet to share my new look.

I decided late last year that I wanted to chop my hair off at the start of 2018. My hair was getting too long and too unmanageable that, most days, I just left it in a bun or ponytail. However, it was not until I saw myself in the mirror one day at work that I realized how unprofessional my hair was making me look. So, I took it upon myself to make, not one but, two hair appointments.

When I walked into my first hair appointment, I looked at my stylist and said, “chop it off.” We agreed that about five inches off was perfect for the professional look I wanted without making me feel naked. I showed her the below photo (see photo #1) and she used it as inspiration to cut my hair perfectly for me. As soon as she spun me around in the chair I was so happy! My hair looked so healthy and felt so lightweight— it was incredible!

The following weekend I stepped into my second appointment: color. I showed my colorist the below photos (see photos #2 & 3) and told her to use them as inspiration to help me achieve a professional, yet fun, hair color. She and I discussed that my hair pulls gold and that it most likely would not be identical to the photos I was showing her. But, that was totally okay with me so I told her to go for it!

Here are the photos I showed to my stylists:

Here are the results:

I love my new look! I feel so sassy as a blonde (and lighter with five inches less of hair) and I'm so glad we kept my roots dark. This will help me avoid having to go to the salon every few weeks; this should last me more like six months!

If you're in the Chicago area, like me, make sure you go see Jennifer at The Paul Rehder Salon in Winnetka for your color and Anishka at Second Nature Salon for your cut!

Make sure you are following me on Twitter and Instagram for more photos of my hair transformation! I wear it both straight and naturally so you can really see the difference of the color that way too!

bottom of page