top of page

I Guest Posted: Multipurpose Makeup Products

I love finding products that have more than one purpose because why spend more money than you need to?! Below you’ll find some of my favorite hacks; they may be unusual, but you’ll thank me later!

Bronzer as Eye Shadow – This is probably my favorite hack of them all! I love to do this when I am in a rush or look particularly tired one day. All I do is swirl my eye shadow brush into my bronzer and pop it in my crease. This creates enough boldness to look put together and really helps to emphasize your eyes when you’re feeling a little blah. I should reiterate, this does not emphasize your eyes looking tired but actually helps you look more awake. Thank you, bronzer!

Eye Shadow as Highlight – Ah, another oldie but goodie. I started using this trick when I purchased the L’Oréal Infallible Eye Shadow in the shade “Iced Latte.” I remember looking at this shade and thinking it would be a gorgeous highlight; so, I thought why not and popped it on the high points of my face. Dang, was I right or what?! It was gorgeous and any time I find a shadow like this I take full advantage of the new-found dual purpose.

Lipstick as Blush – Okay, this one sounds a little nutty, I know. But, this is awesome if you have a really creamy lipstick that you love. All you’ll want to do is pop a little lipstick on either your finger or beauty sponge and ever so lightly tap it into the apples of your cheeks. This will help you look a little more flushed and alive.

Mascara as Gel Liner – Another odd one. But, this is really cool! I have found that my liquid eyeliner dries up so quickly. So, instead you can take a little bit of mascara on a liner brush and use it as you would gel liner. Is it unconventional? Yes. But, it is great in a pinch.

Lip Liner as Eye Liner – First of all, make sure to read the packaging—if it says not to put the product near your eyes, don't! But, I have found that some neutral brown lip liners make for gorgeous eye liner! It helps it warm up the liner by drawing a few test-lines on your hand first and then applying the product. I would not recommend using this trick for your waterline—that could be very bad. However, again, it is great when you’re low on time or if you forgot your liner!

Argon Oil – Wait, isn’t this about makeup products, Madie? Well, yes but you can use this on your hair, skin and nails so I just had to mention it! I originally fell in love with this as a face moisturizer but I quickly realized that it could probably do just as much good in my hair or the rest of my body. So, I like to put this at the ends of my hair on days that it is feeling extra dry and on my rough hands during the winter. It is a great multi-purpose product that you can find relatively inexpensive at most grocery and super stores.

That’s all folks—six multipurpose products you can use when you’re on a budget, on the go or just want to try something new! If you have a favorite multipurpose product, please let me know!

bottom of page