top of page

Covergirl Trublend Matte Made Foundation

I have been off of the drugstore foundation grind for a bit now; no particular reason, I just have found high-end products I enjoy. But, when I saw this Covergirl Trublend Matte Made Foundation, I knew I wanted to try it!

As it is the middle of summer here in Chicago, I thought this would be the perfect foundation to try out against this nasty heat and humidity. After wearing this foundation several times, with different primers and powders, I finally have my verdict!

This is a great foundation if you are inside the majority of the day. I, for example, work 9-5 in an office with a walk outside during lunch. For this type of lifestyle, this is a great foundation! It doesn't move, separate, oxidize or make me look oily. So, if you're an indoor person, this is a go!

On the other side of the spectrum, if you are outside the majority of the day, whether that's from running errands, you work outside, you take kids to the park, etc., this is a no-go-fosho.

I spent the majority of my day outside testing this product and it was an absolute mess. Here was my day:

-run errands

-eat lunch outside

-go shopping

-go for a walk

-go to dinner

-go to the lake (not swimming, just sitting outside and chatting)

Oh my Lord, my face was a mess! The foundation slid everywhere, broke up on my skin, oxidized and did not control any oils. Was I sweaty? Yes. Did I try to blot? Yes. Did this foundation still let me down? Heck yes. The bottom line here is that if you are planning on being out all day, in and out of AC and maybe even getting a little sweaty, you should avoid this at all costs.

Would I buy this foundation again? I think so! But, I will only be using this during the weekdays when I am less exposed to the humidity outside. I am shocked by how it reacted when I used it in the heat, as it is a matte foundation, but as long as it holds up when I need it most (at work) then I'm OK with it.

Have you tried this foundation? What is your favorite foundation for oily skin? Let me know!

bottom of page