top of page

August Boxycharm

Disappointed is an understatement when it comes to this month's box.

I feel like August's box was full of items that I realistically will never use.

The first item is the Laura Lee Los Angeles Party Animal Eyeshadow Palette ($19). While the bright colors are fun, and I'm sure I would use this once or twice, this is not something I would have chosen if I had the opportunity. I believe that Laura Lee came out with a few other palettes that are more wearable so I wish they would have included one of those rather than this neon palette.

I also received House of Lashes lashes in the style "Bambie" ($12). Lashes are fun but I literally never wear them. I think the last time I did was at prom back in 2013. And of all of the lashes to send they had to send the most intense lashes.

Smashbox contributed several lippies this month and each Charmer received one of the options. Unfortunately for me, I got the shade "Punked Matte" ($24). This is a very cool-toned gray blue shade with a hint of purple. Basically, something I would wear on Halloween if I was going as a punk rocker. I have nothing against this shade, or anyone who would voluntarily wear it outside of Halloween, but this is so not my style.

Finally, something I am interested in! These are the Wander Beauty Baggage Claim Gold Eye Masks (set of 3 - $13). I am really impressed that I got a set of three patches in this box! I did use one pair the other night and I felt so regal. The patches are actually gold and the packaging said they use that to hold the moisture in the patch and help to keep the under eye super hydrated. I did see a reduction in puffiness after using these and my dark circles were a tad lighter. Overall, these are just fun and made my feel luxurious.

Next up is the Bang Beauty Chocolate Eyeliner ($22). While this is a beautiful shade, I rarely reach for eyeliner anymore. I plan on gifting this to someone solely because I know I will never use it.

The last item I got in this month's box is the Adesse Sweet Almond Cuticle Oil ($18). This is an odd item to throw into this box but, hey, I'll take it. As the winter months quickly approach Chicago I know my hands will thank me for using this product. But, I wish that I had been given something else in its place. This product just does not 'wow' me.

Honestly, I am only truly happy about the eye masks. I am hoping that next month includes more items that I can use every day and or items that make sense for my life (ie. lotion, primer, hair oil, nail polish, brushes, etc.).

What did you get in your Boxycharm this month? Are you as disappointed as I am in what you received? Let me know!

bottom of page