top of page

My First Glossier Purchase!

I was so excited to hear that Glossier had opened a pop-up shop in Chicago! As soon as I heard, I texted my friend Shermin and asked her to check it out with me. So, off we went to explore the world of Glossier!

When you walk in you are greeted by the nicest ladies in pink jumpsuits. All of them ask if you need help or have any questions-- but not in a pressure-y kind of way that you can sometimes face in Sephora or Ulta. As you move into the store there is pink and white everywhere! The products are laid out on tall white tables; the bright packaging immediately draws you in.

One thing I loved about this store was that all of the items out on the tables were samples. They had all of the wands taken out of the products (ie. mascara, brow gel, liquid shadow, etc.) and had clean wands out for sanitary purposes. This is genius to me as I've heard horror stories of people trying lip samples without proper hygiene and ending up with herpes...yikes!

Since there are not a ton of different products sold by Glossier I did not feel overwhelmed when I walked in. It was great! Shermin and I just took our time and looked around. We were in and out in about 40 minutes-- not bad!

Okay, now the fun stuff-- what did I buy? It was a tough decision but I ended up going with:

Boy Brow - Brown

Haloscope - Quartz

Balm Dotcom - Birthday

The Boy Brow is a tinted brow gel that holds brows in place all day. This pigmentation is stunning while still giving me a natural look. Haloscope is a beautiful cream highlight. This literally makes my skin look wet; it's so beautiful! Next was the Balm Dotcom. This wasn't something I was originally looking for but when I came across it I at least wanted to test it out. This is a creamy, thick, but not sticky lip balm. It is a clear balm but this one has some small glitters in it which makes my lips look so full and juicy. And, this smells like icing...yum! Lastly I picked up Cloud Paint. I was nervous about this one because I normally wear powder on top of my foundation so I didn't want the cream blush to rub away my foundation or look cakey on my powder. But, the Glossier rep. told me that she wears powder too and never has an issue. She said the secret is to tap a little at a time on over powder and it shouldn't move anything around.

I got the Boy Brow and Haloscope as a duo (both full-size) for $30

I got the Balm Dotcom for $12

I got the Cloud Paint for $18

I envision myself using these products for more natural no-makeup makeup looks as opposed to something a bit more glam. While I think I can glam these products up, they just scream 'cozy weekend casual' to me. I am also making more of an effort to wear less makeup (or no makeup) on the weekends to give my skin a chance to breathe so I think these will be perfect with a little IT Cosmetics CC Cream and some mascara.

I absolutely loved my experience at this pop-up! I can't wait to put these products to the test and share my thoughts with you all. Make sure you are following me on Instagram where I will be posting my first impressions and final thoughts on these goodies!

Glossier's Chicago pop-up is open until October 28th so make sure you check it out before it's gone!

bottom of page