top of page

Blogmas Day 3: Two Popular Products That Did Not Work For Me


If you watch my Instastories then you know how excited I was to try both the Summer Fridays Jet Lag Mask and the Farmacy New Day Exfoliating Grains. Unfortunately, neither worked for me. I'm very disappointed to say that I returned both items; here's why:

The Farmacy New Day Exfoliating Grains looked so intriguing online! I was looking for a 'clean' exfoliant to help smooth out my dry winter skin. But, when I picked this up, it turned out to be more of a cleanser than anything. Yes, it had exfoliants in it but it really didn't leave my skin looking too different. Essentially, I was looking for the power of Kate Somerville ExfoliKate and ended up disappointed.

This next product was such a let-down for me. I have been dying to try the Summer Fridays Jet Lag Mask ever since it launched. I heard all of the biggest celebrities sharing how much they love this and how it changed their skin. So, when I saw it was still available during the VIB sale, I picked it up and gave it a try.

Let me tell you what, my skin was incredibly glowy after this mask! I had three separate people tell me how great my skin looked and or how good my makeup looked the day after using this-- I was shocked. However, right after I used this mask, my face was pretty irritated. Nothing hurt, but I had a visible rash on my cheeks. It almost looked like my face was splotchy from crying...it was weird. But, the results were so good I tried it again!

The second time using this my skin was glowing yet again. I didn't have any splotchiness like I did the first time either. But, I did wake up with little bumps under my eyes, almost like a rash but sporadic in placement; some bumps were on my lids and some were under my eyes. I was hoping it was the new concealer I was trying (sorry, concealer!) but it was not. I determined I was having allergic reactions to the mask. Waah!

Of course, since these products did not work for me, or were not what I was hoping for, I returned them with the saddest look on my face. But, this just proves that not every product works for every person. So, next time someone hates on your favorite product, just remember that not everyone has to love the same products you do.

*click HERE to review Blogmas rules & how to enter the giveaway*

bottom of page