top of page

Blogmas Day 15: The Only Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe You Will Ever Need

When I saw these Brown Butter and Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies on Bon Appetite's YouTube channel I knew I needed to make them! The idea of brown butter in my cookies really intrigued me. So, I picked up all of my ingredients, along with my new Kitchen Aid mixer, and got to baking!

Here's What You Need

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • ¾ teaspoon kosher salt

  • 1 cup (packed) dark brown sugar - I used light brown as that's what was in my pantry

  • ⅓ cup granulated sugar

  • 2 large eggs, room temperature

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • 2 1.4-oz. chocolate toffee bars (preferably Skor) - I used Health Toffee Chips

  • 1½ cups chocolate wafers (disks, pistoles, fèves; preferably 72% cacao) - I used Tollhouse Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks

  • Flaky sea salt - I used coarse sea salt and it worked just as well

Here's What You Do

  • Cook the butter on the stove until the butter starts to foam (about 5-8min) *this is called browning the butter*

  • Remove the butter from the stove and place into heat-resistant bowl, let cool

  • Combine flour, baking soda and kosher salt, set aside

TIP: If you're gluten-free, try swapping out the all-purpose flour with your favorite GF alternative; mine is Gluten Free Bisquick!

  • Combine sugars with brown butter

  • Add vanilla and eggs to butter/sugar mixture

  • Slowly add the flour mixture to your butter/sugar mixture, mix until just combined

  • Fold toffee and chocolate chips into dough (I like to use the entire bag of Health Toffee chips and about 3/4 of the chocolate chunk bag)

  • Let the dough sit for at least 30min at room temperature

TIP: Take this waiting time to clean up and jam to Christmas music, because duh

  • Preheat your oven to 375 degrees fahrenheit

  • Add parchment paper to cookie sheets

  • Scoop dough onto sheets and add a pinch of flaky sea salt to each dough ball

TIP: Use an ice cream scoop for scooping dough onto your parchment paper

  • Bake cookies between 9-11min or until browned

  • Remove cookies from oven and allow at least 10min for cookies to cool (or not, if you're a rebel)

  • Eat up, girl!

This recipe was such a hit! I brought these cookies into work for my coworkers and people were talking about them for days; some even asked for me to make more and others asked for the recipe!

These cookies are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside; full of chocolate chips with hints of sea salt and toffee. Yum! Seriously, they're incredible!

What is your ultimate cookie recipe? Are you team cookie dough or team fresh-baked cookie? Let me know by commenting on this post!

*click HERE to review Blogmas rules & how to enter the giveaway*

bottom of page