top of page

Blogmas Day 18: Your New Favorite Winter Meal

I found this Tomato Basil Soup recipe about a month ago and I have made it several times since. I do swap out a few items and make this work with what I have in my kitchen, but regardless, it's delicious and perfect for those chilly winter nights.

What You Need

  • 3 tablespoons EVOO - I use Avocado Oil

  • 1 small yellow onion, diced - I buy this pre-diced, no tears!

  • 2 cloves garlic - I used pre-minced garlic and add one heaping tablespoon

  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

  • 1/8 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

  • 1/4 cup tomato paste - I use one small can of tomato paste

  • 2 28 oz. cans of diced tomatoes

  • 5 large basil leaves, fresh

  • 2 cups chicken broth

  • 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt - I use goat's milk yogurt as my stomach cannot tolerate cow's milk

What You Do

  • Add oil, onion and garlic to pot and cook until onions are translucent

  • Pour onions/garlic into blender (I used my Magic Bullet)

  • Add onion mixture back into pot

  • Add remaining ingredients, minus yogurt, into blender and mix until you reach desired consistency

  • Pour blended mixture into pot and let simmer for 10 minutes

  • Stir in yogurt

  • Eat up, Girl!

Once your soup is ready to go, or 2-5 minutes away from being done, start making your grilled 'cheese.' For this you will need,

  • Gluten-free bread - see my favorite here

  • Dairy-free cheese - see my favorite here

  • Vegan Butter - see my favorite here

I spread a little butter on one side of the bread and put that side face down. I then added two slices of vegan cheese. Once the bottom started to brown, about 2 minutes, I buttered another piece of bread and flipped the sandwich over to brown the new piece. Once the sandwich has a few minutes to cook, I covered the pan and let the cheese melt for 1-2 minutes.

Remove the sandwich from the stove and get dippin'!

This blog has so many amazing recipes; everything I've made has been incredible! If you try this one, let me know what you think!

*click HERE to review Blogmas rules & how to enter the giveaway*

bottom of page