top of page

Blogmas Day 16: New Year, New Hair

As you know, we recently moved into the city of Chicago which means I had to leave my trusty hair salon behind and find a new home-salon. Thankfully, several women in my office see the same person for their hair so I decided to go as well.

I saw Sabrina (@sabrinathehairwitch) at the Kelly Cardenas Salon in Wicker Park for a cut, color, blow dry and style.

I wish I remembered to take a before picture but here is one where you can *sort of* tell what my hair looked like before. Also, I don't have many with my hair fully down because my hair got to the point where I wore it up most of the time because I didn't know what to do with it. Aka, I knew I needed a change. Anyway, it was very grown out at the root, I had a lot of blonde at the ends of the top layers of my hair but it was still pretty dark at the bottom, my hair was growing out like a lob (not intentionally) and there was a lot of heaviness around the back of my head but not much going on in the front.

When I went in to see Sabrina I showed her quite the collection of inspiration photos. Some women had shorter hair, some had brighter blonde pieces and some were on the darker, almost honey coloring, side. Sabrina, being the professional and artist that she is, took inspiration from all of the photos and gave me a custom look.

She smudged out my roots so that I wouldn't have to go back right away to get a touch up, she lightened up the front of my face, she added some angles to my bangs (I part my hair down the middle) and took some weight off of the back of my head. She then blow dried and styled my hair so I walked out with a 'cool girl beachy vibe.' Basically, I'm in love!

While it was a long process, just over four hours to be exact, I am so happy with the results! Not only do I love my hair, but I loved the experience as well. Everyone I encountered was so kind and really knew what they were doing. Just the way I was greeted when I walked it, a welcome new guests sign awaited me, was amazing.

Once I checked in, I was offered complimentary drinks from water to coffee to soda and even mimosas! I was then given a tour and ended up in the changing room to gather my robe. Once I was robed-up, I had a consultation with Sabrina where she listened to my concerns and we set up a game plan. I then moved over to the coloring area where I got to watch her create my custom color and chatted for the next hour or so while she went to work on my hair.

Once the color and foils were in place, I moved on over to the dryer. I must have had two or three wonderful stylists check on me and ask me if I needed anything while my hair dried. It was so nice!

When the foils were ready to come off, I was taken into the spa-like backroom which included soft music, dimmed lights and a heated blanket while I got my hair washed. Not only did my hair get squeaky-clean but I also was treated to a complimentary scalp, shoulder and neck massage. It was amazing! I've never been to a salon with service like this before.

After I was so incredibly relaxed, it was time for the reveal! I was brought over to Sabrina's station and given a haircut that would emphasize my features and take away some of the bulk I had going on. Then, she gave me a complimentary blowout (which was amazing for me because the salon I went to previously charged extra for that) and cleaned up any areas she thought could use a bit more of a trim. Finally, she put it all together with a cool-girl beachy wave and wallah! we have a new look for 2019!

The experience I had at the Kelly Cardenas Salon and with @sabrinathehairwitch was unlike any other. The amount of care and thought that went into every step of my 4+ hour visit was incredible. If you're looking for a new salon, and especially if you live in the city, you need to check this one out!

*click HERE to review Blogmas rules & how to enter the giveaway*

bottom of page