top of page

Back To My Roots: Beat On A Budget


Four years ago (holy crap!) I started this blog to share how college-aged kids, like myself at the time, could have a "beat" face on a Walmart budget. So, here I am, back where it all began to share some of my favorite budget-friendly makeup products!

This is a great foundation at a great price! I like the Matte and Poreless line of this foundation, especially for summer date nights! The shade range of Maybelline products is pretty good too so it's better than other lines when it comes to finding a color match. *pictured above*

Powder - One Heck of a Blot - $16

If you're oily or combination like me, you will love this powder! It is a little on the pricier side for a drugstore powder but it's worth it! This makes my skin so smooth and adds just a touch of coverage. However, it is translucent so do not expect to add a great deal of coverage; if you want that, I would suggest a powder that you have color-matched to your skin tone.

Bronzer - Sephora Collection - $17 (on sale now for $7!)

This is the best semi-affordable bronzer I own! These come on sale all the time and is really beautiful! I have a shimmery bronzer by them and its stunning, especially in the summer! The shade I have (Maui, I believe) is very warm and adds a great radiance to the skin. *pictured above*

Blush - Milani Baked Blush - $8

I love this blush! I have the shade Luminoso and it is just that, luminous! I love his blush in the summer and spring time as it gives my skin a pop of coral with a touch of shimmer. Can you tell I like to be shimmery and glowy? *pictured above*

Highlight - Wet N Wild - $5

Wet N Wild has come out with so many shades since these highlights first launched and they're all beautiful! These highlights are incredibly creamy and pigmented, plus they're only five bucks so stock up, girl! *pictured above*

I am so in love with this mascara I have bought it 10 times already, maybe more. Any time someone asks for a mascara recommendation, this is the one I suggest. I do that for a few reasons: 1) it's ten freaking dollars! 2) it makes lashes incredibly full and dark 3) it's easy to remove after a long day but will stay on if you have a mid-day melt down.

Brows - L'Oreal Brow Mascara - $11

I am a huge brow gel fan, it's my favorite brow item! This one by L'Oreal is not only affordable but comes in a few shades and is extremely long-wearing. This is comparable to the Benefit Gimme Brow and the Glossier Boy Brow but at a lower price point. Try this one out if you love the others I mentioned but don't love their price point.

Setting Spray - Mario Badescu Spray - $7

The ultimate spray as far as I'm concerned! While it's not advertised as a makeup setting spray, it does do a great job of holding makeup in place while adding that extra hydration I'm looking for. I compare this spray to Mac Fix+ (which I also love!) just at a better price.

What are your go-to makeup affordable makeup products? Tell me what you love so I can try them too!

bottom of page