top of page

Chatty Madie: My 2019 Goals


I normally pass on the New Year’s resolutions for two reasons: 1) I make them too specific which inevitably becomes too difficult to maintain and 2) I put a lot of pressure on myself to maintain these goals and it ends up being very unhealthy for my mental health. However, this year I am feeling motivated to make resolutions that are attainable and more ‘if it doesn’t work out then oh well’ than they have been in the past. I think part of the success (hopefully) will be separating the blogging goals from my personal goals. So, here’s what I am thinking for 2019:

Blogging Goals

  • Post when I say I will and stick to a schedule

  • I struggle with this hard core. I feel guilty when I don’t post a blog on my normal T/TH/SAT schedule but also post mediocre content if I rush and post just to post. So, to combat this, I will plan on my normal blogging schedule but if I cannot make a blog post happen that day then I will make sure I post on Instagram and include a mini review or snapshot of whatever that blog post was intending to be. I think this will be a good compromise for me and will take the pressure off a bit.

  • Expand on content

  • While I still love am obsessed with all things beauty, I have many other passions such as baking, cooking, health and overall wellness. So, I am making it a goal to be more diverse in my blogging content to not only satisfy my urge to blog about more outside of beauty but to gain more readers so I can grow my blog.

Personal Goals

  • Focus more attention on my hair

  • This may sound silly coming from a beauty blogger but I could care less about my hair. Seriously, I can do a beat face with untamed hair and could rock it. But, I have realized that’s not as professional as having my hair done and looking nice so I am going to put more effort into that. Plus, this way I have more hair products to try and review for you!

  • Be kinder to myself

  • It is so easy for me to compliment and see the best in others but, truthfully, I have an extremely difficult time applying that to myself. While most days I am OK and know that I am enough, some days just really take a toll on me and I feel pressure from myself to work out more or eat less or eat better or improve my skincare routine or train myself to not get anxiety (I’ve learned this is nearly impossible) and the list goes on.

  • Become a better (active) listener

  • I have a tendency to space out when people are talking to me. It’s not because I’m uninterested in what they are saying but because they will say something that triggers me to think about something else and then I get into this worm hole and by the time they’re done talking I realize I didn’t hear anything at all. So, my goal is to better listen and specifically become more of an active listener; interacting with them and participating in the conversation as opposed to just sitting there and letting my mind wander.

While New Year’s resolutions have been hard for me in the past, I feel like these are simple enough to follow and will not make a dent in my life if I cannot reach them.

Are you creating resolutions this year? Share them with me, I would love to hear!

bottom of page