top of page

Treat Yo'Self | My Birthday Sephora Haul

Every year, I allow myself to go on a bit of a Sephora spree, more so than usual, on my birthday. Lucky for me, I turned 24 on March 31--woo! So, I thought about items I need and items I've been wanting to try and got a combination thereof. Here's what I ended up with!

Sephora says: This hydrating, bouncy cleanser delivers all the antioxidant-rich benefits of blueberries while refining pores with hyaluronic acid and AHAs. The ultra-gentle formula is packed with nourishing oils to remove makeup with minimal rubbing. Skin is clear, radiant, and glowy without feeling stripped.

What I think: Ahh, I am up in the air on this one. I think this cleanser is fine. It does it's job but it isn't anything spectacular. I am not a huge fan of the scent and it takes a bit of work to get it to lather. However, I don't feel like I need to use a lot of product to get my face clean so that's a plus. Look, I use this after the gym and it does it's job. So, it's fine but nothing to write home about.

Price: $10

Sephora says: This luxuriously bouncy, breathable sleeping mask refreshingly hydrates, smooths, and perfects skin overnight with a revolutionary pillow-proof, transfer-proof formula. The oil-free, lightweight, glow-boosting hybrid is formulated with ultra-soothing watermelon extract, hydrating hyaluronic acid, and gentle AHAs that work while you sleep to tone and clarify roughened, dull complexions. AHAs smooth the surface of the skin by banishing dead, rough surface cells, clearing the path for ultra-effective, lasting hydration, while hyaluronic acid binds moisture to the skin for an incredibly nourished complexion. Skin is baby-soft and bright in the morning, effortlessly.

What I think: I heard so much hype over this product and I'm on the fence as to why...I was expecting Jet Lag Mask vibes - glowy, radiant, hydrated skin. Well, it definitely helps with the hydration but the rest not so much. I will say that I noticed more of a difference in my skin when I used this post-flight rather than just at home on a Tuesday. I'm not sure why but better believe I'll be saving this bad boy for the next time I do any air travel!

Price: $22

Sephora says: Light Wonder Foundation is a lightweight formula that illuminates, smooths, hydrates, and visibly minimizes pores and wrinkles for flawless-looking skin. Ideal for people that want buildable, light coverage with a sheer finish, it features SPF 15 to protect from UV damage.

What I think: Finally a product I am obsessed with! This gives me the most beautiful glow I've ever had. I love that there is SPF in this too - that's something I always look for since I have such fair skin. But, this is awesome because I can build up coverage or keep it super natural and sheer. The shade match is almost perfect, too. I used Sephora's shade matcher online and told it to match me closest to my IT Cosmetics CC Cream since that's pretty dead-on too. That brings me to another point, this foundation mixes so beautifully with my CC Cream! I did hot yoga the other night after work (which means I had a full-face on) and it actually looked beautiful after sweating in a 105 degree room for 90 minutes. How? I don't know but I love it!

Price: $46

Sephora says: This primer is formulated with aloe water, cherry blossom, hyaluronic acid, and B vitamins to support skin for a healthier-looking base, and provide a glassy, post-hot-yoga-class glow. The silicone-free, oil-free, green-tinted formula blends in clear to work across all skin tones and types.

What I think: Yikes, my skin did not like this product. Not only did I get several new breakouts after using this, I hated how tacky it left my skin feeling. Instead of feeling hydrated, I just felt sticky and my face felt heavy. Thank goodness this was a sample and not a product I spent money on because I can guarantee I would be returning it if I had.

Price: free sample

Sephora says: This powerhouse face toner targets dark spots, fine lines, and wrinkles, brightens, and smooths texture. Tone post-cleansing, and you’ll be perfectly prepped for serum and moisturizer. Plus, with its addictive lemon sugar scent and the tingle, you’ll be hooked from the very first swipe.

What I think: This product is hyped up for a reason. Ever since going off of my pill (again, nope not trying to get pregnant - yes, people actually ask me) my acne has started to leave some dark spots. This never used to happen to me so once it did I had no idea what do to. I had heard so much about this product so I went for it and I am so happy that I did! I use this every other night and it significantly reduces the look of my dark spots overnight. I know people complained about the scent and a burning sensation when applying but I like the scent and the only time it ever burned was when I put

it over an open pimple (oops).

Price: $28

Sephora says: Lip Sleeping Mask has a softening balm texture that closely adheres to lips for quick absorption. Enriched with vitamin C and antioxidants, its Berry Mix Complex™ offers a nutritiously sweet and fragrant blend of raspberry, strawberry, cranberry, and blueberry extracts to indulge the senses. Its exclusive Moisture Wrap™ technology boasts hyaluronic acid and minerals to form a protective film over the lips to lock in moisture and active ingredients. A generous layer of this soothing mask at bedtime helps reduce flakiness so you can wake up to lips that feel refreshed, supple, and soft to the touch.

What I think: I am in love with this lip product! I was originally going to purchase this but then I saw it as a sample so I swooped it up. I love the scent (I got the original which smells like berries) and the thickness of this mask is perfect overnight. I apply a good amount before bed and wake up with soft and supple lips. I even added some to the corners of my mouth when my skin was super dry and it cleared it right up!

Price: free sample

Sephora says: The SUPERMUD® Clearing Treatment was developed to address common skin concerns, which include blemishes, redness, scars, razor bumps, and in-grown hair. The potent mud formula supports skin’s natural oil balance, while a proprietary blend of six acids (glycolic acid, salicylic acid, lactic acid, mandelic acid, pyruvic acid, and tartaric acid) works to help minimize pores and create clearer skin. Activated-X charcoal lifts away dirt and other skin congestions, resulting in a refined, healthy-looking complexion.

What I think: You already know I love this mask! Any time I have a bad breakout I slap some of this on and within a day or so it's cleared up! Ten out of ten, would recommend!

Price: free sample

Sephora says: YSL’s patented, secret Optical Brightening Technology is now available to tackle under-eye circles. Designed to address hereditary ones as well as those caused by fatigue, this formula reflects light away from the eyes to diffuse and color-correct darkness. The built-in brush applicator is perfect for applying and blending in the small eye area.

What I think: I really like this product! It is super creamy and radiant. I love the way my undereyes look when I wear this! But, I am not a fan of the packaging. Yes, it's beautiful and I feel so fancy when I use it but it's just not all that practical. It's a clicker so you literally click it like a pen and product comes out. It can take forever to get product to come out and sometimes too much comes out and there's no way to put it back so you're wasting product. I think if they took the same elegant gold theme of the packaging and made it into a doe-foot applicator we'd be golden (pun intended)!

Price: $35

Overall, this was a very successful birthday shopping trip! I really am happy with my purchases! I think my favorite is the Charlotte Tilbury foundation, it's just stunning!

Have you use any of these products? What did you think? Let me know!

bottom of page