top of page

I Tried Three Brands of Chemical Exfoliant Peels

As you know, I have been struggling with my skin even after going off of my hormonal pill. I thought/was hoping it would get better but unfortunately, new problems have come up instead. My new issue is dark spots. I never had these when I was on the pill but now I am seeing darkness, leftover from my acne, especially on my cheeks. So, I sought out three different peels to encourage cell turn-over which, I was advised by my esthetician, is supposed to help with the darkness.

I heard about these through a colleague, she swears by these! This was actually the first Tula product I tried and I was really impressed...at the time. I think these are super user-friendly as it's one pad with two sides. I also have a sick obsession with the fact that you can see the dead skin flake off when you use these pads. These definitely give you an immediate glow and extra soft skin but I think they're way over priced; almost $60 for only 16 pads seems a bit much to me. But, the formal is incredibly gentle on my skin so I think these are good if you are looking for a cleaner (ingredient wise) peel.

Dr. Dennis Gross - $88, pack of 30

I love these peels because there are different levels depending on what your skin needs.

I tried all three strengths of peels and they all work great for my skin. I think the way to go is Sensitive or Universal on a daily basis and then Extra Strength before a big event where you need your skin on point quickly. The only drawback I can find with these is the two-step process. You use the the 'Step 1' pad first then wait two minutes and use the 'Step 2' pad. While it doesn't really take that much time, it does take longer than the other pads I tried. I personally am willing to take the extra few minutes to get the instant results. Seriously, I see a difference overnight - it is amazing!

These are the first peels I ever used. I tried these first as a recommendation by my aunt and cousin. They both said these helped their skin so I wanted to try them too! I this these pads are the easiest to use as they are only one step and, because of that, there is no waiting between steps. I am all about a quick and easy routine so that's a plus for me. While I love the ease of these, I find the formula is a bit too harsh to use on a daily basis. When I was using these consistently, I didn't see the results that I see after just one use of the Dr. Dennis Gross pads nor the Tula pads. So, while these are the most budget-friendly, it definitely takes a bit longer to see results.

My favorite is the Dr. Dennis Gross Peel in 'Sensitive.' I feel like I could really use this daily without over-irritating my skin. I noticed immediate changes in my skin the morning after using this product and that, to me, is worth the price.

Have you tried any of these at-home peels? I am clearly a huge fan of all of them but one has my heart over the others. Tell me what you think!

bottom of page