top of page

The Ultimate Comfort Food | Banana Bread

Let me preface this for you...it was 63 and sunny in Chicago yesterday; today, I am looking out my window and it's snowing. Welcome to the midwest!

To me, banana bread is one of the most comforting foods. There is nothing like warm, fresh bread - with a tab of butter because, duh - and a cozy blanket on days like today. So, I thought I would share how I made this delicious (not-so-nutritious) treat!

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Add the following ingredients into a bowl: 1) 1/2c butter 2) 3/4c brown sugar 3) 2 eggs 4) 2 very ripe bananas

3. Mix ingredients until creamy

4. In a separate bowl, add the following ingredients: 1) 2c flour 2) 1tsp baking soda 3) 1/4tsp salt

** For added yumminess add 1/8tsp ground cloves, 1/4tsp ground nutmeg & 1tsp cinnamon **

5. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet mixture - combine until smooth

6. Place batter in greased 9x5 tin and bake for 60-65 minutes

**You can also use a greased muffin tin and bake for 20-25 minutes**

This banana bread is so freaking good! It is not too sweet, not overpoweringly banana flavored and just enough to satisfy that need for rainy-day (or snowy-day in my case) comfort food.

Thanks to Allrecipes for the recipe! Are you going to be baking today? What's on the menu? Make sure to send me pictures if you test out this oh-so-good recipe, too!

bottom of page